Exotic India!!!!!

As most of you know, I was born and raised in Canada.  My parents moved here in the 70’s and have worked very hard to instill Indian values, culture and religion in us (my siblings and myself).  Growing up, it was a little difficult to understand that…  you see we didn’t want to be different from our peers.  Dad wanted us to wear the traditional Indian outfit when we visited our relatives and boy did we hate it.  I mean jeans were so much more comfortable, modern and well….cooler.  Since we did not make very many trips to India, it became very important for my parents to ensure we knew who we were and where we came from.  I think the harder they tried the more we resisted.

As we got older each of us began to see things a little differently.  I for one, started to become curious  about the Indian culture and gravitated towards  it.  You see, I have an 85yr old grandmother who is still living in India and I think I will give her all the credit in helping me find a side of myself that I had been ignoring for a very long time.  She unknowingly  helped me bridge two contrasting cultures.

Now that I have young children, a long trip to India was something that was hardly ever considered.  I worried about all the “what if’s”.  What if my kids got sick?  What if the 18 hr plane ride is too much for them?  What if the heat is more than they can bare?  The “what if” questions continued to play in my mind for nine long years.  Then one day my grandmother called and said that she wanted to see me (I would like to believe that I was her favorite :)) and see my little children.  I think that was the push I needed.  So I packed my bags and made the long journey to India, kids and all.  Surprisingly what I thought, and what truly happened were two different things.  Here I share my journey with you, hope you like it.

IMG_6532Standing next to the late Yash Raj’s statue.  He was/is known for producing and directing many Bollywood blockbusters.

IMG_6570Our cottage in Agra

IMG_6577The evening festivities

IMG_6580

IMG_6637

IMG_6665My attempt of trying to “pose” like a queen….until I realized that the throne that I am sitting on is broken 🙂

IMG_6674

IMG_6599

IMG_6628No trip to india is complete without an elephant ride and feeding the monkeys.

IMG_6726

IMG_6703

IMG_6706The picture (above) is called “Sheesh Mahal” also known as “The Palace of Mirrors”.  When the light hits these mirrors they literally sparkle like diamonds…If I could,  I would re-name it “The Diamond Palace”…what do you think? 🙂

IMG_7110This picture (above) is the place where King Akbar used to sit on his throne and rule the country of India.  When I walked into this area and saw his throne, it was like something out of a story book.  You could sense and almost feel the regal vibe all around you.

IMG_6766Rambagh Palace…a truly magnificent place in Jaipur, they also have a horse drawn carriage for their guests….I think this is the closest I will ever get to feeling like a princess.

IMG_6758

IMG_6850

IMG_6851

IMG_7083The very famous Taj Mahal.  This bench is famously known as “The Princess Diana” bench.  She sat on it when she had visited the Taj.  I tried to replicate her elegant pose but I think something went wrong somewhere 🙂

IMG_7404Getting all hennaed up for my cousin’s wedding.

IMG_7334

IMG_7607

Hubby and I having a little fun 🙂

For those of you who are wondering what my granny looks like…its this sweet and elegant lady below.

IMG_7181

I know India is not about Palaces and tourist spots.  To me, it is land of rich culture and traditions.  I love how different it is to Canada and yet so similar in many ways.  Yes the children got sick, yes the plane ride was too long and yes the heat was unbearable at times but I think I underestimated the resilience of my children and my capabilities as a mother.  I am blessed to have the opportunity to be part of two beautiful cultures and two very beautiful countries.   I am in a way….different and being different I realize now,  is not such a bad thing after all 🙂

Hope you guys have a great week.

xoxo

Sarah

About Heels Health and Happiness

A little about myself: I was born and raised in Canada. Coming from a family with 4 siblings (total) it was hard to convince my parents to give me enough money to experiment with fashion. You see...I come from a family that puts a LOT of emphasis on Academics and fashion was something that was almost looked down upon....so I did what most kids do, I went the academic route secretly envying fashion from afar. What I hope to achieve in this blog is to experiment with fashion and all things creative. Be it interior decorating, landscape designing, gardening, art and my first love fashion. I invite you all to join me on this journey of fashion and creativity and self discovery. I will make mistakes and fashion blunders but a wise man once said "The best part of the journey is the journey itself not so much the destination"
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Exotic India!!!!!

  1. annetbell says:

    Great pictures! Namaste. . .. Anne

    Like

  2. beautiful post and great photos~!

    Like

  3. judy says:

    Ah. Look’s like it was a wonderful trip.

    Like

  4. ami20121 says:

    I dream to be able to visit India one day, such a gorgeous place!!!

    Like

  5. Lovely photos! I love the henna you got! How long does it last? Sara

    Like

  6. Stephanie says:

    Wow, gorgeous photos! And what an amazing experience for you and your family! Those are the kind of memories that last a lifetime. I do not do well on airplanes, so that 18-hour plane ride sounds really overwhelming!

    Like

Leave a Reply

