Fashion vs Style

“Style is very personal. It has nothing to do with fashion.  Fashion is over quickly.  Style is forever.”  (Ralph Lauren)

I totally agree with the above statement.  Fashion to me is the latest buzz.  It’s what designers have spent hours trying to create.  Eventually a trend is formed, and you see everyone wanting the latest in the market.  I must admit that I try my best to follow the latest trend, but there are times that the latest is either too ridiculous for me to wear or unaffordable.

Remember the 90’s when lining your lips with a dark lip liner was in? or when guys thought that a mullet was the coolest haircut? or that baggy clothes was the way to go? I can go on and on.  I must say that there were many crazy trends that I used to follow back then myself.  Now, when I look back at my old high school pictures all I do is take a deep sigh ( out of pure embarrassment) and close the album.  There was so much evolving to do in terms of personal growth and style.

baggyclothesmullet_hairstyles03         screen-shot-2013-06-09-at-9-45-27-am

bad-lip-liner

Anyone who knows me now,  also knows that I wear anything  from Target to Prada.  To me, it is what looks good  on me and the connection I get, when I wear something, be it bag or shoe, it’s about how I feel. Today its more about knowing my personal style rather than following the latest trend.   The key to style and fashion is to understand one’s own body and what works for you, from color to fit. Its how we pair our accessories with our outfits, how everything comes together and how we feel afterwards.

So the moral of the story is, KNOW YOUR STYLE and you will be a trend setter without even trying.  Go for the brands you love, not the ones that are HOT right now.  Fashion is about feeling good and looking good, it’s NOT about emptying your bank account just so we can “fit in” with the latest trend.

I hope this article has encouraged you to follow your own heart when it comes to fashion and style, not the latest trend that you are not so sure about.

xoxo

Sarah

Please press the “like” , “share” or comment to show your support!!! Your support encourages me to keep going 🙂

(pictures were taken from Google Images.  No Copyrite  intended)

About Heels Health and Happiness

A little about myself: I was born and raised in Canada. Coming from a family with 4 siblings (total) it was hard to convince my parents to give me enough money to experiment with fashion. You see...I come from a family that puts a LOT of emphasis on Academics and fashion was something that was almost looked down upon....so I did what most kids do, I went the academic route secretly envying fashion from afar. What I hope to achieve in this blog is to experiment with fashion and all things creative. Be it interior decorating, landscape designing, gardening, art and my first love fashion. I invite you all to join me on this journey of fashion and creativity and self discovery. I will make mistakes and fashion blunders but a wise man once said "The best part of the journey is the journey itself not so much the destination"
This entry was posted in Creations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fashion vs Style

  1. Stephanie says:

    Great thoughts! I tend to splurge on classic items that I know I’ll get years of use out of and spend less on trendier pieces. Happy weekend to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

