My love affair with Henna

Hello everyone, thanks for visiting.

During my recent visit to India, I was fortunate enough to attend a cousin’s wedding.  I saw all these talented women doodling henna on each other.  I have always loved henna.  I love the color, the smell and I love how it seems to bring people together during wedding celebrations.

IMG_6318

 IMG_6308

IMG_5749

 When I came back home, I decided to do my own henna designs on whoever willing 🙂 (See pictures above).  For some strange reason doing henna design relaxed me and instantly put me in a happy mood.  I must say, that my interest in henna  has gotten out of control. It has become a full-blown love affair.

  Some uses of henna:

1) Natural chemical free dye for hair and body art.

2)  Hair conditioner.

3)  Anti dandruff.

4)  Henna oil is applied in the hair to prevent it from going grey.

5)  Henna oil is also used as a perfume.

For those of you who are interested in the Medicinal purpose of henna follow this link:  www.naturehomeopathy.com

I promise you some things will surprise you.

 I hope you are enjoying your week.  Till then be creative and follow your dreams, no matter how crazy they may sound to others 🙂

xoxo

Sarah

styleandcreations.wordpress.com

About Heels Health and Happiness

A little about myself: I was born and raised in Canada. Coming from a family with 4 siblings (total) it was hard to convince my parents to give me enough money to experiment with fashion. You see...I come from a family that puts a LOT of emphasis on Academics and fashion was something that was almost looked down upon....so I did what most kids do, I went the academic route secretly envying fashion from afar. What I hope to achieve in this blog is to experiment with fashion and all things creative. Be it interior decorating, landscape designing, gardening, art and my first love fashion. I invite you all to join me on this journey of fashion and creativity and self discovery. I will make mistakes and fashion blunders but a wise man once said "The best part of the journey is the journey itself not so much the destination"
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My love affair with Henna

  1. Arshad says:

    Hey Sarah,all during my school n college years I had grown up hating henna.Thanks to my convent schooling that discouraged henna,nail polish or anything fashionable for that matter:-) Its only during medical college days that I started loving henna as a dye when I realized it really does wonders to ones hair.This gyan was given to me by one our junior friend.Here in Dubai,these beautiful fashion forward emirati women take henna designing to a different level.It always reminds me of home and weddings.Though I love having henna applied to my hands now, its always an ordeal because of my hyperhydrosis.Flying down to India in August to a wedding season,and I am really looking forward to all that excitement once again.

    Like

    • lovethystyle says:

      Hey Arshad,
      Yes growing up henna was a great part of my life. From putting it on for weddings to eid henna was always associated with fun. Im glad you are back to liking henna and I would die to get some tips from the Dubai ladies 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

