The Virtues of Coconut Oil

coconutoil

When I was a kid, I never really understood why my grandmother wanted to put coconut oil in our hair at least once a week.  She swore by it.  According to her, it was the cure to everything including a common cold.  I never understood why, it was greasy and I did not particularly enjoy smelling like a coconut.  What I  did not realize was that my hair was shiny, thick, very long and I always got complimented on how beautiful it was.

As I grew older  and went away to college, I cut my beautiful long hair to a more shoulder length style and putting coconut oil in my hair became a sweet yet distant memory….until recently.  You see I have very dry skin and I have tried every lotion you can imagine.  Until one day as I was going through some old albums, I came across my grandmother’s picture and I  giggled about how she used to force us into putting coconut oil in our hair.  It got me thinking and I thought what the heck……let me try using it every day for two months to moisturize my skin.  To my surprise, my skin began to feel soft and less dry. 

Since I am in the Medical field, I thought to do some research on ‘good old coconut oil‘ and I came across many interesting facts.  Even Doctor Oz had an had an article about the virtues of coconut oil.  I am a believer now and I must say”grandma you were right all along and  I love you for your wisdom :)”.

For those of you who want to buy organic coconut oil (Kerrington Farms 1.5 kg), you can purchase it from Costco for $17 plus tax.

Follow the link below to read all about the qualities of coconut oil….I promise you some things will surprise you.  Let me know what you think.

http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/surprising-health-benefits-coconut-oil

xoxo

Sarah

About Heels Health and Happiness

A little about myself: I was born and raised in Canada. Coming from a family with 4 siblings (total) it was hard to convince my parents to give me enough money to experiment with fashion. You see...I come from a family that puts a LOT of emphasis on Academics and fashion was something that was almost looked down upon....so I did what most kids do, I went the academic route secretly envying fashion from afar. What I hope to achieve in this blog is to experiment with fashion and all things creative. Be it interior decorating, landscape designing, gardening, art and my first love fashion. I invite you all to join me on this journey of fashion and creativity and self discovery. I will make mistakes and fashion blunders but a wise man once said "The best part of the journey is the journey itself not so much the destination"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Virtues of Coconut Oil

  1. Judy says:

    True….But so hard to do. Maybe I will start again too 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

